A review of the book a little exercise for young theologians by helmut thielicke

The title and the idea behind it intrigued me, and I bought the Kindle version the same day. It only took a couple very enjoyable, though sometimes painful hours to read the whole thing.

A review of the book a little exercise for young theologians by helmut thielicke

Thielicke paints a picture of the theological divide between the aspiring theologian in the classroom and the observant Christians in the pews of the church. While admittedly an exaggeration, the representation that Thielicke provides is one that resonates well amidst those in the classroom, pews, and pulpits alike.

Through clarity and brevity, Thielicke establishes that our theology cannot bifurcate from our personal relationship with God. Thielicke encourages students to heed the concerns of their spiritual community based on experience and principle.

Sorry! Something went wrong! As the title says it is a little exercise for young theologians.
A Little Exercise for Young Theologians - Helmut Thielicke - Google Books Learning theology at the expense of your own spiritual health is never worth it.
A Little Exercise for Young Theologians by Helmut Thielicke Translated by Charles L.
Review of Helmut Thielicke A little exercise for young theologians - Borrowed Light A classic book of advice for young pastors and theologians.
A Little Exercise for Young Theologians by Helmut Thielicke - alphabetnyc.com Reynolds When I think back on my brashness as a young theologian, I shudder; and whenever that same brashness rears its ugly head today, I shudder still; but age and Christian experience have at least taught me to recognize this monster within.

From the realm of experience, the young theologian has mastered an impressive repertoire of theological vocabulary, which is rooted in little to no experience, and thus lacking substance and grace. All of which Thielicke classifies as "theological puberty" Thielicke warns of the dangers of spiritual pride and the disease associated with this internal desire for self-satisfaction.

Moving from matters of experience, Thielicke warns of the pitfalls of skepticism from the community on the grounds of principle. Thielicke acknowledges the simplicity of the concerns of the community; however, these concerns must not be ignored. The student is encouraged to see through to the heart of the concern, recognizing that the community has in mind their "Christian life behind our theological reflections" Thielicke seeks to remind students that 1 Jesus is the focus of their theological education.

Therefore, as Thielicke turns to dogmatics, students are encouraged to view them as a living systematic discipline 28but our devotion and understanding does not imply that one is "carried away by fundamental faith itself" Thielicke acknowledges the importance of the development of theological systems, he cautions that Jesus should always remain the focus, for without Him, theologizing simply becomes meaningless.

Though Thielicke discusses the horror of this theological disease, he does offer advice on bringing restoration and prevention. Thielicke continually reminds students that their focus should be on Jesus, and that their theological endeavors should be shrouded in prayer.

Thielicke terms the study of dogmatics to be "prayed dogmatics" Theology students should continually allow the Bible to speak to them personally and avoid the trend of shifting towards third person reference to God.

Thielicke admonishes students to remain a "man of the spirit," for those who do not will proffer a "false theology" Thielicke encourages students to not just take his word, but to put into practice the learned theology and "climb the mountains" getting out of the deathly laboratories, reaching the "canopied heights and finding life there" Author Helmut Thielicke, renowned University of Hamburg Theology professor, provides guidance and direction for the young theology student as to the pitfalls of their journey and the means for restoration and prevention of serious spiritual disease.

While this text was originally written for late twentieth century Lutheran theological students, Thielicke's words resonate within the hearts and minds of any theological student, for many of the challenges spoken of, continue to plague theological students today.

Thielicke is 2 extremely straightforward in his discussion, yet not to the point of being offensive. His message is clear, young theology students need to take a step back and gain understanding and wisdom from experience, rather than go off spouting their theological-ness and exposing their ignorance.

The present work should be on the reading list of every seminary student and pastor, for the wisdom found in its forty-one pages could fill volumes of works. Thielicke has proffered a significant tool that will remain beneficial for many years to come.

The nature in which Thielicke approaches the student is as one with a pastoral heart. All too often, seminarians disassociate themselves with the church, in view of their supposed higher placement among the ranks of the learned.

However, Thielicke rightly admonishes his students that they are connected to their spiritual community — the body of believers. Thielicke notes, "we think within the community of God's people, and for that community, and in the name of that community. Thielicke continues, "This very community is concerned very rightly for our spiritual health.

Failure to do so, would lead to spiritual decay and indicate misdirection in the student's theology. Thielicke argues, "If the theologian, however, does not take more seriously the objections of the ordinary washerwoman and the simple hourly-wage earner…surely something is not right with theology.

Without community, one simply has a philosophy and not theology. Thielicke displays theology for the student as an activity amidst the community of believers that neither ostracizes the community nor isolates the theologian from the ecclesia.

This calls for an intentional laying aside of the students intellectual pride and maintaining a personal relationship with God. While this may appear a simple task, living this out is not as simple. As the young theologian gains knowledge of truth, it produces "a kind of joy of possession.

A review of the book a little exercise for young theologians by helmut thielicke

This sets about an internal conflict and develops a "reflective detachment" for the young theologian.As the title says it is a little exercise for young theologians. This little booklet is Thielicke’s hope that doctrine will penetrate into the real life. , Book Review, Reading List for ; 0 comments About this blog.

Review of Helmut Thielicke A little exercise for y Jul 22 (1) Jul 15 (1) Jul 14 (3) Jul 13 (1). A Little Exercise for Young Theologians [Helmut Thielicke, Martin E. Marty] on alphabetnyc.com *FREE* shipping on qualifying offers.

Since it first appeared in English translation in , A Little Exercise for Young Theologians has achieved classic status/5(54). Buy A Little Exercise for Young Theologians Reissue by Helmut Thielicke (ISBN: ) from Amazon's Book Store. Everyday low prices and free delivery on eligible alphabetnyc.coms: 5.

Concise, understandable, potentially deflating User Review - Stephen - alphabetnyc.com As someone young, new to the faith, and reading every book I can get /5(4). Helmut Thielicke writes this insightful little book, which he would give out to new students in his Theology Class.

(Thielicke was an esteemed preacher and theologian in Germany) This book is a quick little read but I would encourage it for anyone who is interested in Theology, or who knows someone who is interested in Theology/5(54).

In the tradition of Helmut Thielicke's A Little Exercise for Young Theologians, Kelly Kapic offers a concise introduction to the study of theology for newcomers to the field.

A review of the book a little exercise for young theologians by helmut thielicke

He highlights the value and importance of theological study and explains its unique nature as a serious discipline/5(7).

Review of Helmut Thielicke A little exercise for young theologians - Borrowed Light